Log in

Recherches fréquentes

Gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour les services financiers

Donner aux organisations de services financiers les moyens de devenir des entreprises agiles

Démo de Lean and Agile Delivery à la demande

Survive digital disruption by implementing Lean Portfolio Management.

Pour découvrir comment, visionnez la démo de la solution Lean and Agile Delivery de Planview.

Watch now

Gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour les services financiers


The entire financial services industry is in a state of disruptive innovation. While opportunities have never been so plentiful, neither has the threat of obsolescence ever been so prevalent. Financial services must now innovate to survive, and that starts with replacing long-standing business concepts with modern methodologies like Lean Portfolio Management for financial services.>

Les approches traditionnelles de la gestion de portefeuilles ont déjà servi de fondement commercial à de nombreuses sociétés de services financiers. Or, ces approches ont été conçues pour un tout autre paradigme. Aujourd'hui, elles peuvent freiner l'innovation et entraver le flux de valeur. Les organisations de services financiers se tournent maintenant vers la gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour favoriser l'innovation, la circulation de la valeur, mais aussi le financement et la rapidité de planification.

Dans le secteur des services financiers, plus question pour la planification et le financement d'être l'objet d'une réunion annuelle : ces éléments doivent être continus et concertés, les cycles budgétaires souples et la demande gérée en fonction des capacités. De plus, les progrès doivent être mesurés en termes de valeur ajoutée et les entreprises doivent viser l'agilité.

Lors du processus de planification stratégique, les dirigeants des services financiers définissent leurs objectifs, leur orientation et leurs priorités, sans oublier de déterminer les besoins en financements et leur affectation. La gestion de portefeuilles Lean aide ces services en leur permettant de :

  • Travailler plus efficacement en examinant les fluctuations de la valeur dans son ensemble dans toute l'organisation. Le fait de se concentrer en permanence sur les besoins et désirs du client permet de minimiser les pertes de temps et efforts superflus.
  • Se concentrer sur la façon dont leur organisation finance ses projets prioritaires : suit-elle un modèle de financement et de planification sur 12 à 18 mois ou aligne-t-elle les financements sur les flux de valeur ou les secteurs clés de l'entreprise ?
  • Fonder de nouvelles structures opérationnelles pour assurer le respect des pratiques et principes de gestion de portefeuilles Lean sur l'ensemble de l'organisation, à mesure que sont adoptées de nouvelles méthodes de travail, de financement et de planification.
  • Appliquer des paramètres de financement supplémentaire aux flux de valeur. Le contrôle passe ainsi de la haute direction au chef du flux de valeur et les équipes sont désormais en charge de la génération de valeur.

Avec les informations adéquates et le modèle de gestion de portefeuilles adapté en place, les parties prenantes prennent des décisions éclairées concernant les portefeuilles et peuvent rompre les cycles traditionnels de planification stratégique et de financement pour répondre aux attentes des clients, au moment où ceux-ci les expriment.

Concrétiser une vision pour créer de la valeur plus rapidement


Les solutions Lean and Agile Delivery (LAD) sont conçues pour aider les organisations de services financiers à traduire rapidement les besoins de leurs clients en livrables prêts à l'emploi. Les méthodes de travail Lean et Agile, y compris la gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour les services financiers, permettent aux équipes de générer de la valeur rapidement et efficacement en :

  • Décentralisant la prise de décision afin que les personnes les plus proches des activités disposent de l'autonomie décisionnelle nécessaire pour assurer rapidité, efficacité, innovation et adaptation.
  • Atteignant un flux de valeur continu grâce à la certitude que le travail est planifié, exécuté et livré en fonction de la demande et de la capacité.
  • Décentralisant les cycles de planification de manière à ce que celle-ci se fasse selon les besoins et intègre les dernières circonstances, informations et innovations. Effectuées indépendamment du reste de l'organisation, la planification, l'exécution et la mise en œuvre accélèrent l'apprentissage et la livraison.
  • Structurant les livrables de manière à encourager l'innovation et la production de valeur pour le client, mais également en mesurant le succès en fonction de la façon dont les équipes livrent les produits désirables en dépit des fluctuations du marché.
  • Remplaçant les plans à long terme très détaillés par des analyses de rentabilité légères qui fournissent un cadre dynamique pour atteindre les objectifs. Les plans sont ainsi modifiés à mesure que les données deviennent disponibles et que les détails sont saisis.
  • Autonomisant les Agile Release Trains (ART) autogérés qui encouragent le développement d'équipes pluridisciplinaires hautement performantes qui planifient, s'engagent et exécutent les tâches ensemble.
  • Adoptant une approche de budgétisation Lean-Agile répartie sur la totalité du flux de valeur, tout en encourageant la croissance et l'innovation et en réduisant le gaspillage.
  • Prenant des mesures objectives à l'aide de jalons concrets pour découvrir la capacité réelle d'une équipe à générer de la valeur pour le client.

Avec la bonne solution Lean and Agile Delivery, les sociétés de services financiers peuvent adopter des pratiques de gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour optimiser le rendement en s'assurant que les personnes les plus compétentes au sein des équipes appropriées travaillent sur les bonnes priorités et sont financées de manière convenable et plus progressive. Les entreprises de services financiers sont ainsi en mesure de faire face aux bouleversements en réagissant rapidement à la demande du marché.

Agile : Pour sortir par le haut de la disruption du marché des services financiers ebook

Agile : Pour sortir par le haut de la disruption du marché des services financiers

View the ebook

Dans un environnement turbulent, l'agilité d'entreprise pour les services financiers est essentielle


video

Royal Bank of Scotland

Le passage de la gestion de portefeuilles traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuilles Lean

Dans l'économie mondiale actuelle, l'agilité des entreprises de services financiers est plus importante que jamais. Tandis que les nouvelles technologies de fintech et d'insurtech menacent la part de marché des grandes institutions, la course à la numérisation progresse à grands pas et, à l'horizon, l'apprentissage automatique et l'intelligence artificielle sont en passe de perturber le statu quo d'une façon que nous pouvons à peine imaginer.

Les attentes des consommateurs évoluent

Customers of every financial services company have changed. The millennial generation – the target demographic for most businesses today – grew up with digital shopping, entertainment, and socializing, and that formed their expectations. Today, they anticipate a wide variety of digital services that include mobility, personalization, on-demand access, and innovation at the same level they see in consumer tech companies.>

Ces bouleversements ouvrent la voie à d'innombrables possibilités de perturbation dans le secteur des services financiers. Au centre de ces changements, on retrouve la fintech, l'insurtech, les grandes « néobanques » numériques à la pointe de la technologie, les produits ciblés par segment démographique et les innovations en matière de prêt.

Les nouvelles solutions fintech sont conçues pour perturber l'ordre établi

In this era of disruptive innovation, the key to growth and capturing market share has been in applying innovative technologies that speed, enhance, and improve financial activities. That’s what the modern consumer is looking for and the top reason enterprise agility for financial services is essential.>

Même les conseillers financiers traditionnels risquent d'être remplacés par des robots-conseillers automatisés utilisant des algorithmes pour fournir des conseils en matière de placement et de gestion, avec une intervention humaine minimale. Or, il ne s'agit que d'un exemple parmi tant d'autres ; il vous faut donc anticiper d'autres vagues de perturbations qui finiront par transformer l'industrie à mesure que les fintech répondront plus efficacement aux exigences fluctuantes des clients.

L'agilité en entreprise, la réponse à de nombreux défis modernes

Established financial services organizations are feeling the heat. While they have the benefit of experience on their side, many are still struggling to overcome the bureaucratic culture, organizational siloes, and hierarchical management structures that arose as they were dealing with critical challenges of the last paradigm: Cybersecurity, expanding regulation, and an increasingly complex infrastructure.>

Il est maintenant impératif que ces organisations se défassent des modèles d'affaires et technologies hérités qui manquent de la flexibilité nécessaire pour faire face aux défis modernes. Les approches Lean et Agile ont été développées en réponse à ce nouveau monde plus versatile, et c'est exactement ce dont les services financiers ont besoin en ce temps de bouleversements.

L'agilité en entreprise, moteur de la transformation des services financiers


La plupart des organisations de services financiers actuelles sont dans un état de transition par nécessité. Pour fidéliser et attirer de nouveaux clients, elles repensent leurs activités en :

  • Regroupant plusieurs services en un seul produit dont les clients tirent parti tout au long de leur vie financière.
  • Se diversifiant pour offrir une « plateforme » de nouveaux services.
  • Supprimant les barrières transactionnelles pour permettre les paiements en temps réel.
  • Éliminant les cloisonnements entre succursales, centres d'appels et centres opérationnels afin d'améliorer la communication et le partage des données et de mieux servir le client et l'entreprise.

Agile + Numérisation + Automatisation = Transformation


Afin d'atteindre les objectifs décrits plus haut, de nombreuses institutions financières adoptent des principes et des pratiques Agiles, en plus de deux autres avancées technologiques cruciales : la numérisation et l'automatisation.

Chacun de ces efforts peut être considéré comme une transformation en soi. Bien qu'il soit difficile de s'attaquer à ces trois problèmes simultanément, ceux-ci vont de pair. Ce sont les pratiques de développement Agile qui permettront aux entreprises de services financiers de concevoir, construire et intégrer de nouvelles idées et d'offrir de la valeur plus rapidement au client.

Le PMO agile Cinq étapes pour favoriser le déploiement de l’agilité à grande échelle Livre Blanc

Le PMO agile Cinq étapes pour favoriser le déploiement de l’agilité à grande échelle



Obtenir le livre blanc : Le PMO agile: Cinq étapes pour favoriser le déploiement de l’agilité à grande échelle

La gestion de portefeuilles Lean assure une transition Agile réussie


Les entreprises de services financiers sont parmi les plus susceptibles d'avoir adopté Agile, mais beaucoup ne constatent pas les résultats escomptés. Elles ne réagissent toujours pas rapidement aux opportunités ou aux perturbations, et n'apportent pas d'idées innovantes générant une valeur commerciale.

Others are seeing results. They’re moving faster, embracing digital disruption by embracing an Agile shift. What’s the difference? Often, it’s the adoption of Lean Portfolio Management.>

Gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour les services financiers : la clé du succès pour la fintech ?

Contrairement à la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle, la gestion de portefeuille Lean permet aux organisations de travailler plus efficacement, ce qui les aide à gagner du temps et à économiser leurs forces tout en maintenant les besoins des clients au cœur de leurs préoccupations.

Lean practices enable financial services companies to validate and align on priorities. This:>

  • augmente la vitesse et la livraison
  • génère des produits de qualité supérieure
  • améliore la santé de l'organisation

La gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour les services financiers restructure les processus de planification et de financement et les coordonne avec les résultats opérationnels souhaités.

Rather than focusing on individual projects, leaders evaluate a holistic flow of value, and from that perspective identify opportunities for improvement and value delivery. Funding models and planning cycles become continuous processes. Business units make decisions on how value is produced or achieved. Value streams self-organize to deliver the highest-value work first.>

Recommandations pour une gestion de portefeuilles Lean réussie

Pour exceller dans la gestion de portefeuilles Lean, les entreprises doivent se concentrer sur trois domaines clés :

  • Stratégie et financement des investissements : les organisations doivent s'assurer qu'elles investissent dans les bons secteurs du portefeuille. Elles doivent pour cela mettre la politique de côté, examiner objectivement les analyses de rentabilité, s'assurer de leur impact commercial potentiel et financer progressivement les flux de valeur les plus profitables pour réduire le risque financier.
  • Opérations de portefeuille Agile : à mesure que progresse la décentralisation des processus et que les responsabilités sont transférées vers les flux de valeurs, une équipe devrait être affectée à l'harmonisation de l'alignement et de la gouvernance en tout point de la chaîne de valeur. Les réunions de planification et de pilotage aideront à recentrer votre équipe sur les priorités et à changer de cap lorsque les flux de valeur ne génèrent pas les résultats escomptés.
  • Gouvernance Lean : les glissières de sécurité Lean fournissent une structure pour la planification financière et les prévisions de dépenses. Elles s'accompagnent de politiques et pratiques relatives au budget, à la gouvernance et aux dépenses pour les flux de valeur d'un portefeuille. Ces mesures permettent de s'assurer que les flux de valeur les plus efficaces et les plus rentables bénéficient d'un financement et d'une allocation de capacité plus importants que ceux qui offrent une valeur moindre.

La gestion de portefeuilles Lean, indissociable du développement Lean-Agile


Les organisations de services financiers qui adoptent une approche traditionnelle de la gestion de portefeuilles se rendent souvent compte que celle-ci entre en conflit avec le développement Lean-Agile au niveau de l'équipe. En effet, les méthodes traditionnelles de budgétisation et de comptabilité des prix de revient des projets centralisent le contrôle et mettent l'accent sur les projets.

Lean-Agile practices and principles, however, require more decentralized control with a focus on value stream delivery. This disconnect between traditional portfolio management and Lean-Agile delivery makes it nearly impossible to answer key questions:>

  • Comment investissons-nous et générons-nous de la valeur à partir des flux, le tout grâce à notre portefeuille Lean-Agile ?
  • Comment quantifier la valeur de nos initiatives de changement ?
  • Combien investissons-nous directement dans les initiatives de transformation qui détermineront en majorité notre avenir ? Quel est le retour observé ?
  • Quelles sont les initiatives de transformation les plus adaptées à notre stratégie et offrant le meilleur retour sur investissement ?
  • Pouvons-nous visualiser l'activité dans notre portfolio ? Notre plan de financement est-il optimisé pour en maximiser la valeur ?

La gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour les services financiers est radicalement différente de la gestion de portefeuilles traditionnelle. Au lieu d'être préoccupées par le financement des projets individuels, les parties prenantes sont fortement investies dans les résultats générés.

Through Lean Portfolio Management, financial services companies fund value streams incrementally. This reduces the financial risks associated with longer-cycle funding models. And iterative funding combined with continuous planning maximize portfolio value and ensure plans remain dynamic and relevant.>

Adapter Agile aux services financiers


ebook

Les 7 avantages du déploiement Agile à grand échelle et sa mise en œuvre dans votre organisation

Pour découvrir plus d'avantages clés concernant le déploiement d'Agile à grande échelle, y compris les meilleures pratiques recommandées sur la façon de les mettre en œuvre, téléchargez le livre blanc.

La plupart des organisations de services financiers déploient une méthodologie Agile afin de résoudre des problèmes complexes en les décomposant et en s'attaquant à chaque élément individuellement. Il en résulte une exécution plus rapide et plus efficace, une innovation accrue et la capacité d'exploiter de nouvelles opportunités à mesure qu'elles se présentent. Le déploiement d'Agile dans les services financiers présente un certain nombre d'avantages considérables :

L'alignement stratégique à l'échelle de l'entreprise :

  • fait des objectifs stratégiques un point de convergence pour tous
  • organise les équipes autour d'axes de valeurs orientés client
  • tire parti de la transparence et de la coordination entre les équipes pour se réorienter rapidement en cas de changement de priorités

Le financement des axes de valeurs essentiels :

  • crée des flux de valeur autour des produits, processus et solutions pour les clients
  • établit un lien direct entre le financement et les flux de valeur afin d'assurer un soutien financier dans les secteurs où la demande est la plus persistante et où les possibilités d'amélioration de la prestation sont les plus grandes
  • s'appuie sur les ICP plutôt que l'achèvement des produits livrables pour les décisions de financement futures

La visibilité à l'échelle de l'entreprise :

  • fournit au leadership un aperçu de l'efficacité des flux de valeur, de leurs progrès et de leurs répercussions financières
  • récapitule le travail de toutes les équipes afin de visualiser les progrès du programme et les progrès financiers par rapport aux flux de valeur et aux objectifs stratégiques
  • permet de visualiser le travail de toutes les équipes afin de gérer les dépendances inter-équipes, comparer les alternatives, identifier les goulots d'étranglement et y répondre, mais aussi évaluer le mouvement des équipes entre les flux de valeur au fil de l'évolution des priorités

Le déploiement Agile peut aider les entreprises de services financiers à prospérer en cette ère de bouleversements. Grâce à sa capacité éprouvée à harmoniser les équipes, fournir des informations et assurer le financement des initiatives les plus conséquentes, le déploiement Agile élimine de nombreux obstacles sur la voie de la génération rapide de valeur pour le client. Une fois ces obstacles éliminés, vous pouvez vous concentrer davantage sur les moyens d'anticiper et de guider l'évolution de votre secteur plutôt que d'y réagir.

Logiciels Lean et Agile de Planview

La solution Lean and Agile Delivery de Planview permet aux entreprises d'adopter et de se familiariser aux pratiques Lean-Agile, de faire évoluer la méthode Agile au-delà des équipes et de connecter la stratégie à la livraison des équipes Agile tout en améliorant continuellement le flux de travail et en les aidant à travailler plus intelligemment et plus rapidement. Avec Planview, choisissez comment et quand vous souhaitez déployer à grande échelle. Nous vous aiderons à transformer et à faire évoluer Agile selon vos conditions et votre disponibilité.

Skip to main content

Log In

Popular Searches

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services

Empower Financial Services Organizations with Enterprise Agility

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services


The entire financial services industry is in a state of disruptive innovation. While opportunities have never been so plentiful, neither has the threat of obsolescence ever been so prevalent. Financial services must now innovate to survive, and that starts with replacing long-standing business concepts with modern methodologies like Lean Portfolio Management for financial services.

Traditional approaches to portfolio management once acted as the business foundation for many financial services companies. But those approaches were designed for an entirely different paradigm. Today, they can restrain innovation and impede the flow of value. Financial services organizations are now turning to Lean Portfolio Management approaches to nurture innovation, enable the flow of value, and improve funding and planning speed.

Planning and funding can no longer be an annual event. For the financial services industry, planning and funding must be continuous and collaborative, budgeting cycles must be flexible, and demand must be managed against capacity. Additionally, progress must be measured in terms of value delivered and businesses must strive to achieve agility.

During the strategic planning process, financial services leaders set objectives, define direction, identify priorities and determine funding requirements and allocation. Lean Portfolio Management assists by allowing them to:

  • Work more efficiently by looking at how value as a whole is flowing throughout the organization. Continuous focus on what the customer needs and desires minimizes wasted time and effort.
  • Focus on how their organization is funding priorities: Are they funding projects on a 12-18 month funding and planning model, or are they aligning funding to value streams or key areas of the business?
  • Introduce new operational teams and groups to ensure adherence to Lean Portfolio Management practices and principles throughout the organization, as the shift is made to new ways of working, funding, and planning.
  • Establish parameters for incremental funding to value streams, relinquishing control from the executive level to the value stream leader, and holding the teams accountable to delivering value.

With the right information and portfolio management model in place, stakeholders make informed portfolio decisions, and can break the traditional strategic planning and funding cycles to deliver what customers want, when they want it.

Realize vision to value faster


Lean and Agile Delivery (LAD) solutions are designed to help financial services organizations quickly translate customer needs into customer-ready deliverables. Lean and Agile ways of working, including Lean Portfolio Management for financial services, empower teams to deliver value quickly and efficiently by:

  • Decentralizing decision making so that those closest to the work have the decision-making autonomy necessary to enable speed, efficiency, innovation, and adaptation.
  • Achieving a continuous flow of value by ensuring work is planned, executed, and delivered as dictated by demand and capacity.
  • Decentralizing planning cycles so planning occurs as needed, and incorporates new circumstances, information, and innovation. Planning, execution, and delivery done independently from the rest of the organization speeds learning and delivery.
  • Structuring deliverables in ways that incentivizes innovation and the production of customer value, and measuring success in terms of how well teams deliver desirable products in spite of market shifts.
  • Replacing highly-detailed, long-shot plans with lightweight business cases that provide a dynamic framework for achieving a goal. Plans are modified as data becomes available and details are filled in.
  • Empowering self-managing Agile Release Trains (ARTs) that encourage the development of high-performing, cross-functional teams that plan, commit, and execute work together.
  • Taking a Lean-Agile budgeting approach that allocates to the full value stream, fostering growth and innovation and reducing waste.
  • Measuring objectively with fact-based milestones to discover a team’s actual ability to deliver customer value.

With the right Lean and Agile Delivery solution, financial services companies can adopt Lean Portfolio Management practices to optimize throughput by ensuring the right people on the right teams are working on the right priorities, and are funded properly and more incrementally. This helps financial services organizations address disruption by quickly pivoting in response to market demands.

Lean Portfolio Management for the Enterprise: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Whitepaper

Lean Portfolio Management for the Enterprise

What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

eBook

The Challenges of Agile Software Development Costing and Capitalization

Connect Agile and Finance to better capitalize Agile development

Guide

The Ultimate Lean and Agile Software Solution Buyer’s Guide

Whether you are just exploring Lean and Agile, scaling Agile or seeking to connect strategy to delivery, this guide offers software selection criteria to help your organization understand what it needs.

Report

Gartner: 2019 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools

Gartner has named Planview a Challenger in the April 2019 Gartner “Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools” based on its ability to execute and completeness of vision.

Solution Brief

Accelerate Lean and Agile Delivery

Orchestrate Agile at Scale – From Teams to the Enterprise

Webinar

Transforming RBS

Webinar

Costing Agile: Win the Timesheet Debate with Finance

Learn why Finance and Agile leaders need to understand the true impact their Agile teams have to the bottom line and how to provide Finance with a fully auditable record of actual Agile costs.

A Disruptive Landscape Demands Enterprise Agility for Financial Services

Article

Royal Bank of Scotland

The Journey from Traditional Portfolio Management toward Lean Portfolio Management

In today’s global economy, enterprise agility in financial services is more important than ever. New technologies in the form of fintech and insurtech are threatening the market share of leading institutions. The race to digitalize is also well underway and, just over the horizon, machine learning and AI have the potential to disrupt in ways we can only imagine.

Consumer expectations evolve

Customers of every financial services company have changed. The millennial generation – the target demographic for most businesses today – grew up with digital shopping, entertainment, and socializing, and that formed their expectations. Today, they anticipate a wide variety of digital services that include mobility, personalization, on-demand access, and innovation at the same level they see in consumer tech companies.

This has created countless opportunities for disruption in the financial services space. It’s put fintech, insurtech, big tech digital “neo banks,” demographic-focused products, and lending innovation center stage.

New Fintech solutions are designed to disrupt

In this era of disruptive innovation, the key to growth and capturing market share has been in applying innovative technologies that speed, enhance, and improve financial activities. That’s what the modern consumer is looking for and the top reason enterprise agility for financial services is essential.

Even traditional financial advisors are at risk of being replaced by automated robo-advisors using algorithms to provide investment advice and management, with minimal human intervention. That’s one example among hundreds. Anticipate further waves of disruption that will ultimately transform the industry as fintechs more effectively meet customers’ evolving demands.

Enterprise agility is the answer for many modern challenges

Established financial services organizations are feeling the heat. While they have the benefit of experience on their side, many are still struggling to overcome the bureaucratic culture, organizational siloes, and hierarchical management structures that arose as they were dealing with critical challenges of the last paradigm: Cybersecurity, expanding regulation, and an increasingly complex infrastructure.

It’s now imperative that these organizations overcome the legacy business models and technologies that lack the flexibility needed to deal with modern challenges. Lean and Agile approaches were developed in response to this new, more volatile world. And they’re exactly what’s required in this era of disruption.

Article

Royal Bank of Scotland

The Journey from Traditional Portfolio Management toward Lean Portfolio Management

Enterprise Agility Drives Transformation for Financial Services


Most financial services organizations today are in a state of transition by necessity. They’re reimagining their businesses to retain and attract new customers by:

  • Rebundling multiple services into one product that customers leverage across their financial lives.
  • Diversifying to provide a “platform” of new services.
  • Removing transactional barriers to enable real-time payments.
  • Eliminating branch, call center, and operational siloes to improve communication and data sharing that better serves the customer and the business.

Agile + Digitization + Automation = Transformation


In order to achieve the goals above, many financial institutions are adopting Agile principles and practices, alongside two other important technological advances: digitization and automation.

Each of these efforts can be considered a transformation in its own right. While it may be a challenge to address all three simultaneously, they go hand-in-hand. It’s Agile development practices that will allow financial services organizations to design, build, and incorporate new ideas and deliver value faster to the customer.

Lean Portfolio Management Facilitates a Successful Agile Transformation

Financial services companies are among the most likely to have adopted Agile. But many aren’t seeing the results they’d anticipated. They’re still not responding quickly to opportunities or disruption. And they’re not delivering new ideas with commercial value.

Others are seeing results. They’re moving faster, embracing digital disruption by embracing an Agile shift. What’s the difference? Often, it’s the adoption of Lean Portfolio Management.

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services: The Key to Fintech Success?

Unlike traditional portfolio management, Lean Portfolio Management principles allow organizations to work more effectively, reducing wasted time and effort while continuously prioritizing customer needs.

Lean practices enable financial services companies to validate and align on priorities. This:

  • increases speed and delivery
  • produces higher quality products
  • improves organizational health

Lean Portfolio Management for financial services restructures planning and funding processes and aligns them to the business outcomes desired.

Rather than focusing on individual projects, leaders evaluate a holistic flow of value, and from that perspective identify opportunities for improvement and value delivery. Funding models and planning cycles become continuous processes. Business units make decisions on how value is produced or achieved. Value streams self-organize to deliver the highest-value work first.

Guidelines for Successful Lean Portfolio Management

To excel at Lean Portfolio Management, companies must focus on three key areas:

  • Strategy and investment funding: Organizations must ensure they’re investing in the right portfolio areas. They must set politics aside, review business cases objectively, ascertain their potential business impact, and fund the top value streams incrementally to reduce financial risk.
  • Agile portfolio operations: As more processes are decentralized and responsibilities are shifted to the value streams, a team should be assigned to drive alignment and governance throughout the value chain. Planning and steering meetings will help to realign on key priorities and change course when value streams aren’t yielding anticipated outcomes.
  • Lean governance: Lean guardrails provide a structure for financial planning and spending forecasts. They include budgetary, governance and spending policies and practices for value streams within a portfolio. These help ensure the more effective and profitable value streams receive greater funding and capacity allocation than those delivering lesser value.

Lean Portfolio Management Correlates with Lean-Agile Development


Financial services organizations that take a traditional approach to portfolio management often find it conflicts with Lean-Agile development at the team level. That’s because traditional budgeting and project cost accounting methods centralize control and place a heavy focus on projects.

Lean-Agile practices and principles, however, require more decentralized control with a focus on value stream delivery. This disconnect between traditional portfolio management and Lean-Agile delivery makes it nearly impossible to answer key questions:

  • How are we investing in and realizing value from the streams across our Lean-Agile portfolio?
  • How can we quantify the value of our change initiatives?
  • How much are we directly investing in the transformation initiatives that will drive the majority of our future? What return are we seeing?
  • Which transformation initiatives are most aligned to our strategy and delivering the best ROI?
  • Can we visualize the work in our portfolio? And is our funding optimized to maximize the value in it?

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services is a significant shift from traditional portfolio management. Stakeholders are less concerned with the funding of individual projects. Instead, they’re highly invested in the outcomes produced.

Through Lean Portfolio Management, financial services companies fund value streams incrementally. This reduces the financial risks associated with longer-cycle funding models. And iterative funding combined with continuous planning maximize portfolio value and ensure plans remain dynamic and relevant.

Scaling Agile for Financial Services

eBook

The 7 Benefits of Scaling Agile: Key Steps to Implementation Across Your Organization

For more key benefits of scaling agile, including recommended best practices on how to implement them, download the whitepaper.

Most financial services organizations scale Agile in order to solve complex problems by breaking them down and tackling each piece individually. The result is faster, more efficient delivery, enhanced innovation, and the ability to exploit new opportunities as they arise. There are a number of important benefits of scaling Agile in financial services:

Strategic alignment across the enterprise:

  • makes strategic objectives a focal point for everyone
  • aligns and organizes teams around value streams focused on the customer
  • leverages transparency and cross-team coordination to quickly pivot if priorities change

Funding the value streams that matter most:

  • builds value streams around products, processes, and solutions for customers
  • ties funding directly to value streams to ensure financial support for areas with the most persistent demand, and with the most potential to improve delivery
  • evaluates KPIs rather than the completion of deliverables for future funding decisions

Enabling enterprise-wide visibility:

  • provides leadership with insight into how value streams are delivering, their progress, and financial impacts
  • rolls up the work of all teams of teams to see program and financial progress against the value streams and strategic objectives
  • visualizes the work of all teams to manage cross-team dependencies, compare alternatives, identify and respond to bottlenecks, and evaluate shifting teams among value streams as priorities pivot

Scaling Agile can help financial services organizations to thrive in this era of disruption. With its proven ability to align teams, provide insight, and ensure funding for the most consequential initiatives, scaling Agile removes many of the obstacles on the road to delivering rapid customer value. And with those obstacles removed, you can place more attention on anticipating and guiding the evolution of your industry rather than responding to it.

eBook

The 7 Benefits of Scaling Agile: Key Steps to Implementation Across Your Organization

For more key benefits of scaling agile, including recommended best practices on how to implement them, download the whitepaper.

Lean and Agile Software from Planview

Planview’s Lean and Agile Delivery solution enables organizations to adopt and embrace Lean-Agile practices, scale Agile beyond teams, and connect strategy to Agile team delivery while continuously improving the flow of work, and helping them work smarter and deliver faster. With Planview, choose how you want to scale and when. We’ll help you transform and scale Agile on your terms and timeline.