Login

Beliebte Suchen

Lean Portfolio Management für Finanzdienstleistungen

Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen mit Enterprise-Agilität unterstützen

Demo – Lean und Agile Delivery On-Demand

Survive digital disruption by implementing Lean Portfolio Management.

Sehen Sie sich die Demo der Lösung für Lean and Agile Delivery von Planview an und erfahren Sie, wie das geht.

Watch now

Lean Portfolio Management für Finanzdienstleistungen


The entire financial services industry is in a state of disruptive innovation. While opportunities have never been so plentiful, neither has the threat of obsolescence ever been so prevalent. Financial services must now innovate to survive, and that starts with replacing long-standing business concepts with modern methodologies like Lean Portfolio Management for financial services.>

Traditionelle Ansätze im Hinblick auf das Portfoliomanagement dienten einst als Geschäftsgrundlage für viele Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen – doch diese Ansätze wurden für ein völlig anderes Paradigma entwickelt. Heute können sie Innovationen einschränken und den Wertefluss behindern. Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen vertrauen nun auf Lean-Portfoliomanagement-Ansätze, um Innovationen zu fördern, den Wertefluss zu ermöglichen sowie die Finanzierungs- und Planungsgeschwindigkeit zu verbessern.

Planungs- und Finanzierungsentscheidungen können nicht länger im Rahmen einer einzigen jährlichen Veranstaltung getroffen werden. Für die Finanzdienstleistungsbranche müssen Planung und Finanzierung kontinuierlich und kollaborativ gestaltet werden, Budgetzyklen flexibel sein und die Nachfrage im Einklang mit der Kapazität verwaltet werden. Darüber hinaus muss Fortschritt an der Wertschöpfung gemessen werden und Unternehmen müssen sich um Agilität bemühen.

Während des strategischen Planungsprozesses legen die Führungskräfte von Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen Ziele fest, definieren die geschäftliche Ausrichtung, identifizieren Prioritäten und bestimmen den Finanzierungsbedarf sowie die Budgetzuteilung. Lean Portfolio Management unterstützt Sie bei diesen Aufgaben, indem es Ihnen folgende Vorteile bietet:

  • Effizienteres Arbeiten durch Darstellung des Wertstroms innerhalb des gesamten Unternehmens. Die kontinuierliche Konzentration auf die Bedürfnisse und Wünsche von Kunden minimiert den Zeit- und Arbeitsaufwand.
  • Konzentration auf die Art und Weise, wie das Unternehmen Prioritäten finanziert: Werden Projekte nach einem 12–18-monatigen Finanzierungs- und Planungsmodell finanziert oder ist die Finanzierung an Wertströmen oder Schlüsselbereichen des Unternehmens orientiert?
  • Einführung neuer Betriebsteams und -gruppen, um die Einhaltung der Lean Portfolio Management-Verfahren und -Prinzipien im gesamten Unternehmen sicherzustellen, während die Umstellung auf neue Arbeits-, Finanzierungs- und Planungsmethoden vollzogen wird.
  • Festlegen von Parametern für die schrittweise Finanzierung von Wertströmen, wodurch die Kontrolle von der Managementebene auf die für den Wertstrom zuständige Führungskraft übertragen wird, während Teams für die Wertschöpfung verantwortlich sind.

Mit dem richtigen Informations- und Portfoliomanagement-Modell treffen Stakeholder fundierte Portfolioentscheidungen und können die traditionellen strategischen Planungs- und Finanzierungszyklen überwinden, um das zu liefern, was Kunden sich wünschen, wann immer sie es sich wünschen.

Schneller von der Vision zur Wertschöpfung


Lean und Agile Delivery (LAD)-Lösungen wurden entwickelt, um Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, Kundenbedürfnisse schnell in Form kundengerechter Ergebnisse zu erfüllen. Die Lean und Agile-Prinzipien, einschließlich Lean Portfolio Management für Finanzdienstleistungen, befähigen Teams, durch folgende Vorteile schnell und effizient Mehrwert zu schöpfen:

  • Dezentralisierung der Entscheidungsfindung, damit diejenigen Mitarbeiter, die am stärksten an einem bestimmten Projekt beteiligt sind, die notwendige Entscheidungsautonomie besitzen, um Geschwindigkeit, Effizienz, Innovation und Anpassung zu fördern.
  • Erzielen eines kontinuierlichen Wertstroms, indem sichergestellt wird, dass die Arbeit nach Bedarf und Kapazität geplant, durchgeführt und bereitgestellt wird.
  • Dezentralisierung von Planungszyklen, damit die Planung nach Bedarf und unter Berücksichtigung neuer Bedingungen, Informationen und Innovationen erfolgt. Die vom Rest des Unternehmens unabhängige Abwicklung von Planung, Durchführung und Bereitstellung beschleunigt das Lernen und die Bereitstellung.
  • Strukturierung von Ergebnissen auf eine Art, die Innovation fördert und die Schaffung von Kundenwert anregt, sowie Messung des Erfolgs daran, wie gut Teams trotz Marktveränderungen wünschenswerte Produkte liefern.
  • Ersetzen von hochdetaillierten, langfristigen Plänen durch simple Business Cases, die einen dynamischen Rahmen für die Umsetzung von Zielen bieten. Pläne werden kontinuierlich an neue Daten und Details angepasst.
  • Ermöglichung der Selbstverwaltung von Agile Release Trains (ARTs), die die Entwicklung von leistungsstarken, funktionsübergreifenden Teams fördern, die gemeinsam Projekte und Aufgaben planen, zuweisen und durchführen.
  • Implementierung eines Lean-Agile-Ansatzes bei der Budgetierung, der den gesamten Wertstrom abdeckt, Wachstum und Innovation fördert und Verschwendung reduziert.
  • Objektive Messung mit faktenbasierten Meilensteinen, um die tatsächliche Fähigkeit eines Teams zur Schöpfung von Kundenwert zu ermitteln.

Mit der richtigen Lean und Agile Delivery-Lösung können Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen Lean Portfolio Management-Praktiken anwenden, um den Durchsatz zu optimieren, indem sie sicherstellen, dass die richtigen Mitarbeiter in den richtigen Teams an den richtigen Prioritäten arbeiten und ordnungsgemäß und schrittweise finanziert werden. Dies hilft Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen, auf Disruption zu reagieren, indem sie sich schnell an Marktanforderungen anpassen.

Enterprise Agility: How to transcend disruption in the financial services industry ebook

Enterprise Agility: How to transcend disruption in the financial services industry

View the ebook

Betriebliche Agilität als Voraussetzung für Finanzdienstleistungs-Erfolg im Zeitalter der Disruption


video

Royal Bank of Scotland

Der Weg vom traditionellen Portfoliomanagement zu Lean Portfolio Management

In der heutigen globalen Wirtschaft ist die betriebliche Agilität von Finanzdienstleistern wichtiger denn je. Neue Technologien in Form von Fintech und Insurtech bedrohen den Marktanteil führender Institutionen, der Wettlauf um die Digitalisierung ist in vollem Gange, und maschinelles Lernen sowie KI haben das Potenzial, in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft eine Disruption in ungeahntem Maße zu bewirken.

Die Erwartungen der Verbraucher entwickeln sich

Customers of every financial services company have changed. The millennial generation – the target demographic for most businesses today – grew up with digital shopping, entertainment, and socializing, and that formed their expectations. Today, they anticipate a wide variety of digital services that include mobility, personalization, on-demand access, and innovation at the same level they see in consumer tech companies.>

Dies hat unzählige Möglichkeiten für Disruption in der Finanzdienstleistungsbranche geschaffen. Fintech, Insurtech, Big Tech, digitale „Neo-Banken“, demografisch ausgerichtete Produkte und die Bereitstellung von Innovationen stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt.

Neue Fintech-Lösungen sind auf Disruption ausgelegt

In this era of disruptive innovation, the key to growth and capturing market share has been in applying innovative technologies that speed, enhance, and improve financial activities. That’s what the modern consumer is looking for and the top reason enterprise agility for financial services is essential.>

Selbst traditionelle Finanzberater laufen Gefahr, durch automatisierte Roboter-Berater ersetzt zu werden, die Algorithmen verwenden, um Anlageberatung und -management mit minimalem menschlichen Eingriff zu ermöglichen. Das ist ein Beispiel unter Hunderten. Die Zukunft birgt weitere Wellen disruptiver Neuerungen, die letztendlich die Branche prägen werden, da Fintech in der Lage sein wird, sich verändernde Kundenanforderungen effektiver zu erfüllen.

Enterprise-Agilität ist die Antwort auf viele moderne Herausforderungen

Established financial services organizations are feeling the heat. While they have the benefit of experience on their side, many are still struggling to overcome the bureaucratic culture, organizational siloes, and hierarchical management structures that arose as they were dealing with critical challenges of the last paradigm: Cybersecurity, expanding regulation, and an increasingly complex infrastructure.>

Es ist heute unerlässlich, dass diese Unternehmen sich von veralteten Geschäftsmodellen und Technologien verabschieden, denen die benötigte Flexibilität fehlt, um moderne Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. Als Reaktion auf diese neue, brisante Welt wurden Lean- und Agile-Ansätze entwickelt – und sie sind genau das, was in dieser Ära der Disruption erforderlich ist.

Enterprise-Agilität fördert die Transformation von Finanzdienstleistungen


Die meisten Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen befinden sich heute zwangsläufig im Umbruch. Sie überdenken ihr Geschäft, um neue Kunden zu gewinnen und zu binden. Dabei setzen Sie auf folgende Methoden:

  • Kombination mehrerer Services zu einem Produkt, das Kunden über ihren gesamten finanziellen Lebenszyklus nutzen können.
  • Diversifizierung, um eine „Plattform“ mit neuen Services zu schaffen.
  • Beseitigung von Transaktionsbarrieren, um Echtzeit-Zahlungen zu ermöglichen.
  • Eliminierung von Filialen, Callcentern und Betriebs-Silos zur Verbesserung der Kommunikation und des Datenaustauschs, was einen zusätzlichen Vorteil für Kunden und Unternehmen bedeutet.

Agile + Digitalisierung + Automatisierung = Transformation


Um die oben genannten Ziele zu erreichen, setzen viele Finanzinstitute auf Agile-Prinzipien und -Verfahren sowie auf zwei weitere wichtige technologische Innovationen: Digitalisierung und Automatisierung.

Jede dieser Bemühungen kann als eigenständige Transformation betrachtet werden. Es mag zwar eine Herausforderung sein, alle drei gleichzeitig anzugehen, doch sie gehen Hand in Hand. Agile Entwicklungspraktiken ermöglichen es Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen, neue Ideen zu entwerfen, zu entwickeln und zu integrieren und ihren Kunden in kürzerer Zeit einen größeren Mehrwert zu bieten.

Lean Portfolio Management ermöglicht eine erfolgreiche Agile-Transformation.


Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen gehören zu denjenigen, die Agile-Ansätze am ehesten implementieren. Viele von ihnen erzielen jedoch weiterhin nicht die Ergebnisse, die sie sich erhofft hatten. Sie reagieren nach wie vor nicht schnell genug auf Gelegenheiten oder Disruption und liefern keine neuen Ideen mit kommerziellem Wert.

Others are seeing results. They’re moving faster, embracing digital disruption by embracing an Agile shift. What’s the difference? Often, it’s the adoption of Lean Portfolio Management.>

Lean Portfolio Management für Finanzdienstleistungen: der Schlüssel zum Fintech-Erfolg?

Im Gegensatz zum traditionellen Portfoliomanagement ermöglichen die Grundsätze des Lean Portfolio Management Unternehmen eine effektivere Arbeitsweise, reduzieren Zeit- und Arbeitsaufwand und stellen die Kundenbedürfnisse stets klar heraus.

Lean practices enable financial services companies to validate and align on priorities. This:>

  • erhöht die Geschwindigkeit und Lieferung
  • gewährleistet qualitativ hochwertigere Produkte
  • verbessert die betriebliche Gesundheit

Lean Portfolio Management für Finanzdienstleistungen strukturiert Planungs- und Finanzierungsprozesse neu und passt sie an die gewünschten Geschäftsergebnisse an.

Rather than focusing on individual projects, leaders evaluate a holistic flow of value, and from that perspective identify opportunities for improvement and value delivery. Funding models and planning cycles become continuous processes. Business units make decisions on how value is produced or achieved. Value streams self-organize to deliver the highest-value work first.>

Leitlinien für ein erfolgreiches Lean-Portfoliomanagement

Für eine erfolgreiche Implementierung von Lean Portfolio Management müssen sich Unternehmen auf drei Kernbereiche konzentrieren:

  • Strategie- und Investitionsfinanzierung: Unternehmen müssen sicherstellen, dass sie in die richtigen Portfoliobereiche investieren. Es gilt, politische Interessen außen vor zu lassen, Business Cases objektiv zu überprüfen, ihre potenziellen Auswirkungen auf das Unternehmen zu ermitteln und die wichtigsten Wertströme schrittweise zu finanzieren, um das finanzielle Risiko zu reduzieren.
  • Agile-Portfolio-Aktivitäten: In einer Zeit, in der immer mehr Prozesse dezentralisiert und Verantwortlichkeiten zunehmend auf die Wertströme verlagert werden, sollten Unternehmen über ein spezielles Team verfügen, das die Ausrichtung und Governance entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette vorantreibt. Planungs- und Ausrichtungsgespräche tragen dazu bei, dass sämtliche Mitarbeiter die wichtigsten Prioritäten im Blick behalten, wenn die Wertströme nicht zu den erwarteten Ergebnissen führen.
  • Lean-Governance: Lean-Prinzipien bieten eine Rahmenstruktur für Finanzplanung und Ausgabenprognosen. Dazu gehören Budget-, Governance- und Ausgabenrichtlinien und -praktiken für Wertströme innerhalb eines Portfolios. Diese tragen dazu bei, dass die effektivsten und umsatzstärksten Wertströme mehr Mittel- und Kapazitätszuweisungen erhalten als diejenigen, die einen geringeren Nutzen liefern.

Lean Portfolio Management korreliert mit Lean-Agile-Entwicklung


Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen, die einen traditionellen Ansatz für das Portfoliomanagement verfolgen, sehen sich oft im Konflikt mit der Lean-Agile-Entwicklung auf Teamebene. Der Grund: Traditionelle Budgetierungs- und Projektkostenrechnungsmethoden zentralisieren das Controlling und legen einen starken Fokus auf Projekte.

Lean-Agile practices and principles, however, require more decentralized control with a focus on value stream delivery. This disconnect between traditional portfolio management and Lean-Agile delivery makes it nearly impossible to answer key questions:>

  • Wie investiert das Unternehmen in die Schöpfung von Nutzen auf Basis der Wertströme im gesamten Lean-Agile-Portfolio?
  • Wie kann das Unternehmen den Nutzen seiner Veränderungsinitiativen messen?
  • Wie viel investiert das Unternehmen direkt in die Transformationsinitiativen, die den Großteil seiner Zukunft bestimmen werden? Welche Ergebnisse liefern diese Initiativen?
  • Welche Transformationsinitiativen sind am besten auf die Strategie des Unternehmens ausgerichtet und liefern den größten ROI?
  • Kann das Unternehmen die Projekte in seinem Portfolio visualisieren? Ist die Finanzierungsstrategie optimiert, um einen größtmöglichen Wert zu erzielen?

Lean Portfolio Management für Finanzdienstleistungen stellt einen bedeutenden Wandel gegenüber des traditionellen Portfoliomanagements dar. Stakeholder kümmern sich weniger um die Finanzierung einzelner Projekte, stattdessen gilt ihr Interesse verstärkt den erzielten Ergebnissen.

Through Lean Portfolio Management, financial services companies fund value streams incrementally. This reduces the financial risks associated with longer-cycle funding models. And iterative funding combined with continuous planning maximize portfolio value and ensure plans remain dynamic and relevant.>

Skalierbarkeit für Finanzdienstleistungen


ebook

Die 7 Vorteile der agilen Skalierung – wichtige Schritte zur Implementierung in Ihrem gesamten Unternehmen

Weitere wichtige Vorteile der agilen Skalierung, einschließlich empfohlener Best Practices für deren Implementierung, finden Sie in diesem Whitepaper.

Die meisten Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen skalieren Agile, um komplexe Probleme zu lösen, indem sie diese in kleinere Teilprobleme aufgliedern und jedes davon einzeln angehen. Das Ergebnis sind schnellere, effizientere Bereitstellungen, eine verbesserte Innovationsfähigkeit und die Möglichkeit, neue Chancen zu nutzen, sobald sie sich ergeben. Die Skalierung von Agile in der Finanzdienstleistungsbranche hat eine Reihe wichtiger Vorteile:

Strategische Ausrichtung im gesamten Unternehmen:

  • macht strategische Ziele zu einem Schwerpunkt für alle Beteiligten
  • richtet Teams auf der Grundlage von Wertströmen aus, die auf den Kunden zugeschnitten sind.
  • beruht auf Transparenz und teamübergreifender Koordination, um zeitnahe Anpassungen zu ermöglichen, wenn sich Prioritäten ändern.

Finanzierung der wichtigsten Wertströme:

  • baut Wertströme um Produkte, Prozesse und Lösungen für Kunden auf.
  • bindet die Finanzierung direkt an Wertströme, um die finanzielle Unterstützung für Bereiche mit der konstantesten Nachfrage und dem größten Potenzial zur Verbesserung der Bereitstellung sicherzustellen.
  • bewertet KPIs anstatt von Ergebnissen für zukünftige Finanzierungsentscheidungen.

Ermöglichung unternehmensweiter Transparenz:

  • bietet Führungskräften Einblicke in die Art und Weise, wie Wertströme entstehen, sowie in ihren Fortschritt und ihre finanziellen Auswirkungen.
  • bietet eine Übersicht über die Arbeit sämtlicher Teams, um den programmatischen und finanziellen Fortschritt im Vergleich zu den Wertströmen und strategischen Zielen zu ermitteln.
  • visualisiert die Arbeit sämtlicher Teams, um teamübergreifende Abhängigkeiten zu verwalten, Alternativen zu vergleichen, Engpässe zu identifizieren und darauf zu reagieren sowie sich verändernde Teams im Hinblick auf Wertströme und inmitten sich weiterentwickelnder Prioritäten zu bewerten.

Die Skalierung von Agile kann Finanzdienstleistungs-Unternehmen helfen, in diesem Zeitalter der Disruption erfolgreich zu sein. Mit seiner bewährten Fähigkeit, Teams zusammenzuführen, Einblicke zu liefern und die Finanzierung der wichtigsten Folgeinitiativen sicherzustellen, beseitigt die Skalierung von Agile viele der Hindernisse auf dem Weg zur raschen Schöpfung von Kundenwert. Sind diese Hindernisse erst einmal beseitigt, können Sie sich verstärkt darauf konzentrieren, die Entwicklung der Branche im Voraus zu erkennen und aktiv mitzugestalten, anstatt lediglich darauf zu reagieren.

Lean- und Agile-Software von Planview

Die Lean- und Agile-Delivery-Lösung von Planview ermöglicht es Unternehmen, Lean-Agile-Praktiken zu übernehmen, über Teams hinaus agil zu skalieren und die Strategie mit der agilen Team-Bereitstellung zu verbinden. Gleichzeitig verbessert sie kontinuierlich den Workflow und und hilft den Teams, intelligenter zu arbeiten und schneller zu Ergebnissen zu kommen. Wählen Sie in Planview, wie und wann Sie skalieren möchten. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Transformation der agilen Skalierung gemäß Ihren Bedingungen und Zeitplänen.

Skip to main content

Log In

Popular Searches

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services

Empower Financial Services Organizations with Enterprise Agility

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services


The entire financial services industry is in a state of disruptive innovation. While opportunities have never been so plentiful, neither has the threat of obsolescence ever been so prevalent. Financial services must now innovate to survive, and that starts with replacing long-standing business concepts with modern methodologies like Lean Portfolio Management for financial services.

Traditional approaches to portfolio management once acted as the business foundation for many financial services companies. But those approaches were designed for an entirely different paradigm. Today, they can restrain innovation and impede the flow of value. Financial services organizations are now turning to Lean Portfolio Management approaches to nurture innovation, enable the flow of value, and improve funding and planning speed.

Planning and funding can no longer be an annual event. For the financial services industry, planning and funding must be continuous and collaborative, budgeting cycles must be flexible, and demand must be managed against capacity. Additionally, progress must be measured in terms of value delivered and businesses must strive to achieve agility.

During the strategic planning process, financial services leaders set objectives, define direction, identify priorities and determine funding requirements and allocation. Lean Portfolio Management assists by allowing them to:

  • Work more efficiently by looking at how value as a whole is flowing throughout the organization. Continuous focus on what the customer needs and desires minimizes wasted time and effort.
  • Focus on how their organization is funding priorities: Are they funding projects on a 12-18 month funding and planning model, or are they aligning funding to value streams or key areas of the business?
  • Introduce new operational teams and groups to ensure adherence to Lean Portfolio Management practices and principles throughout the organization, as the shift is made to new ways of working, funding, and planning.
  • Establish parameters for incremental funding to value streams, relinquishing control from the executive level to the value stream leader, and holding the teams accountable to delivering value.

With the right information and portfolio management model in place, stakeholders make informed portfolio decisions, and can break the traditional strategic planning and funding cycles to deliver what customers want, when they want it.

Realize vision to value faster


Lean and Agile Delivery (LAD) solutions are designed to help financial services organizations quickly translate customer needs into customer-ready deliverables. Lean and Agile ways of working, including Lean Portfolio Management for financial services, empower teams to deliver value quickly and efficiently by:

  • Decentralizing decision making so that those closest to the work have the decision-making autonomy necessary to enable speed, efficiency, innovation, and adaptation.
  • Achieving a continuous flow of value by ensuring work is planned, executed, and delivered as dictated by demand and capacity.
  • Decentralizing planning cycles so planning occurs as needed, and incorporates new circumstances, information, and innovation. Planning, execution, and delivery done independently from the rest of the organization speeds learning and delivery.
  • Structuring deliverables in ways that incentivizes innovation and the production of customer value, and measuring success in terms of how well teams deliver desirable products in spite of market shifts.
  • Replacing highly-detailed, long-shot plans with lightweight business cases that provide a dynamic framework for achieving a goal. Plans are modified as data becomes available and details are filled in.
  • Empowering self-managing Agile Release Trains (ARTs) that encourage the development of high-performing, cross-functional teams that plan, commit, and execute work together.
  • Taking a Lean-Agile budgeting approach that allocates to the full value stream, fostering growth and innovation and reducing waste.
  • Measuring objectively with fact-based milestones to discover a team’s actual ability to deliver customer value.

With the right Lean and Agile Delivery solution, financial services companies can adopt Lean Portfolio Management practices to optimize throughput by ensuring the right people on the right teams are working on the right priorities, and are funded properly and more incrementally. This helps financial services organizations address disruption by quickly pivoting in response to market demands.

Lean Portfolio Management for the Enterprise: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Whitepaper

Lean Portfolio Management for the Enterprise

What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

eBook

The Challenges of Agile Software Development Costing and Capitalization

Connect Agile and Finance to better capitalize Agile development

Guide

The Ultimate Lean and Agile Software Solution Buyer’s Guide

Whether you are just exploring Lean and Agile, scaling Agile or seeking to connect strategy to delivery, this guide offers software selection criteria to help your organization understand what it needs.

Report

Gartner: 2019 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools

Gartner has named Planview a Challenger in the April 2019 Gartner “Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools” based on its ability to execute and completeness of vision.

Solution Brief

Accelerate Lean and Agile Delivery

Orchestrate Agile at Scale – From Teams to the Enterprise

Webinar

Transforming RBS

Webinar

Costing Agile: Win the Timesheet Debate with Finance

Learn why Finance and Agile leaders need to understand the true impact their Agile teams have to the bottom line and how to provide Finance with a fully auditable record of actual Agile costs.

A Disruptive Landscape Demands Enterprise Agility for Financial Services

Article

Royal Bank of Scotland

The Journey from Traditional Portfolio Management toward Lean Portfolio Management

In today’s global economy, enterprise agility in financial services is more important than ever. New technologies in the form of fintech and insurtech are threatening the market share of leading institutions. The race to digitalize is also well underway and, just over the horizon, machine learning and AI have the potential to disrupt in ways we can only imagine.

Consumer expectations evolve

Customers of every financial services company have changed. The millennial generation – the target demographic for most businesses today – grew up with digital shopping, entertainment, and socializing, and that formed their expectations. Today, they anticipate a wide variety of digital services that include mobility, personalization, on-demand access, and innovation at the same level they see in consumer tech companies.

This has created countless opportunities for disruption in the financial services space. It’s put fintech, insurtech, big tech digital “neo banks,” demographic-focused products, and lending innovation center stage.

New Fintech solutions are designed to disrupt

In this era of disruptive innovation, the key to growth and capturing market share has been in applying innovative technologies that speed, enhance, and improve financial activities. That’s what the modern consumer is looking for and the top reason enterprise agility for financial services is essential.

Even traditional financial advisors are at risk of being replaced by automated robo-advisors using algorithms to provide investment advice and management, with minimal human intervention. That’s one example among hundreds. Anticipate further waves of disruption that will ultimately transform the industry as fintechs more effectively meet customers’ evolving demands.

Enterprise agility is the answer for many modern challenges

Established financial services organizations are feeling the heat. While they have the benefit of experience on their side, many are still struggling to overcome the bureaucratic culture, organizational siloes, and hierarchical management structures that arose as they were dealing with critical challenges of the last paradigm: Cybersecurity, expanding regulation, and an increasingly complex infrastructure.

It’s now imperative that these organizations overcome the legacy business models and technologies that lack the flexibility needed to deal with modern challenges. Lean and Agile approaches were developed in response to this new, more volatile world. And they’re exactly what’s required in this era of disruption.

Article

Royal Bank of Scotland

The Journey from Traditional Portfolio Management toward Lean Portfolio Management

Enterprise Agility Drives Transformation for Financial Services


Most financial services organizations today are in a state of transition by necessity. They’re reimagining their businesses to retain and attract new customers by:

  • Rebundling multiple services into one product that customers leverage across their financial lives.
  • Diversifying to provide a “platform” of new services.
  • Removing transactional barriers to enable real-time payments.
  • Eliminating branch, call center, and operational siloes to improve communication and data sharing that better serves the customer and the business.

Agile + Digitization + Automation = Transformation


In order to achieve the goals above, many financial institutions are adopting Agile principles and practices, alongside two other important technological advances: digitization and automation.

Each of these efforts can be considered a transformation in its own right. While it may be a challenge to address all three simultaneously, they go hand-in-hand. It’s Agile development practices that will allow financial services organizations to design, build, and incorporate new ideas and deliver value faster to the customer.

Lean Portfolio Management Facilitates a Successful Agile Transformation

Financial services companies are among the most likely to have adopted Agile. But many aren’t seeing the results they’d anticipated. They’re still not responding quickly to opportunities or disruption. And they’re not delivering new ideas with commercial value.

Others are seeing results. They’re moving faster, embracing digital disruption by embracing an Agile shift. What’s the difference? Often, it’s the adoption of Lean Portfolio Management.

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services: The Key to Fintech Success?

Unlike traditional portfolio management, Lean Portfolio Management principles allow organizations to work more effectively, reducing wasted time and effort while continuously prioritizing customer needs.

Lean practices enable financial services companies to validate and align on priorities. This:

  • increases speed and delivery
  • produces higher quality products
  • improves organizational health

Lean Portfolio Management for financial services restructures planning and funding processes and aligns them to the business outcomes desired.

Rather than focusing on individual projects, leaders evaluate a holistic flow of value, and from that perspective identify opportunities for improvement and value delivery. Funding models and planning cycles become continuous processes. Business units make decisions on how value is produced or achieved. Value streams self-organize to deliver the highest-value work first.

Guidelines for Successful Lean Portfolio Management

To excel at Lean Portfolio Management, companies must focus on three key areas:

  • Strategy and investment funding: Organizations must ensure they’re investing in the right portfolio areas. They must set politics aside, review business cases objectively, ascertain their potential business impact, and fund the top value streams incrementally to reduce financial risk.
  • Agile portfolio operations: As more processes are decentralized and responsibilities are shifted to the value streams, a team should be assigned to drive alignment and governance throughout the value chain. Planning and steering meetings will help to realign on key priorities and change course when value streams aren’t yielding anticipated outcomes.
  • Lean governance: Lean guardrails provide a structure for financial planning and spending forecasts. They include budgetary, governance and spending policies and practices for value streams within a portfolio. These help ensure the more effective and profitable value streams receive greater funding and capacity allocation than those delivering lesser value.

Lean Portfolio Management Correlates with Lean-Agile Development


Financial services organizations that take a traditional approach to portfolio management often find it conflicts with Lean-Agile development at the team level. That’s because traditional budgeting and project cost accounting methods centralize control and place a heavy focus on projects.

Lean-Agile practices and principles, however, require more decentralized control with a focus on value stream delivery. This disconnect between traditional portfolio management and Lean-Agile delivery makes it nearly impossible to answer key questions:

  • How are we investing in and realizing value from the streams across our Lean-Agile portfolio?
  • How can we quantify the value of our change initiatives?
  • How much are we directly investing in the transformation initiatives that will drive the majority of our future? What return are we seeing?
  • Which transformation initiatives are most aligned to our strategy and delivering the best ROI?
  • Can we visualize the work in our portfolio? And is our funding optimized to maximize the value in it?

Lean Portfolio Management for Financial Services is a significant shift from traditional portfolio management. Stakeholders are less concerned with the funding of individual projects. Instead, they’re highly invested in the outcomes produced.

Through Lean Portfolio Management, financial services companies fund value streams incrementally. This reduces the financial risks associated with longer-cycle funding models. And iterative funding combined with continuous planning maximize portfolio value and ensure plans remain dynamic and relevant.

Scaling Agile for Financial Services

eBook

The 7 Benefits of Scaling Agile: Key Steps to Implementation Across Your Organization

For more key benefits of scaling agile, including recommended best practices on how to implement them, download the whitepaper.

Most financial services organizations scale Agile in order to solve complex problems by breaking them down and tackling each piece individually. The result is faster, more efficient delivery, enhanced innovation, and the ability to exploit new opportunities as they arise. There are a number of important benefits of scaling Agile in financial services:

Strategic alignment across the enterprise:

  • makes strategic objectives a focal point for everyone
  • aligns and organizes teams around value streams focused on the customer
  • leverages transparency and cross-team coordination to quickly pivot if priorities change

Funding the value streams that matter most:

  • builds value streams around products, processes, and solutions for customers
  • ties funding directly to value streams to ensure financial support for areas with the most persistent demand, and with the most potential to improve delivery
  • evaluates KPIs rather than the completion of deliverables for future funding decisions

Enabling enterprise-wide visibility:

  • provides leadership with insight into how value streams are delivering, their progress, and financial impacts
  • rolls up the work of all teams of teams to see program and financial progress against the value streams and strategic objectives
  • visualizes the work of all teams to manage cross-team dependencies, compare alternatives, identify and respond to bottlenecks, and evaluate shifting teams among value streams as priorities pivot

Scaling Agile can help financial services organizations to thrive in this era of disruption. With its proven ability to align teams, provide insight, and ensure funding for the most consequential initiatives, scaling Agile removes many of the obstacles on the road to delivering rapid customer value. And with those obstacles removed, you can place more attention on anticipating and guiding the evolution of your industry rather than responding to it.

eBook

The 7 Benefits of Scaling Agile: Key Steps to Implementation Across Your Organization

For more key benefits of scaling agile, including recommended best practices on how to implement them, download the whitepaper.

Lean and Agile Software from Planview

Planview’s Lean and Agile Delivery solution enables organizations to adopt and embrace Lean-Agile practices, scale Agile beyond teams, and connect strategy to Agile team delivery while continuously improving the flow of work, and helping them work smarter and deliver faster. With Planview, choose how you want to scale and when. We’ll help you transform and scale Agile on your terms and timeline.