Accéder au contenu principal

Log in

Recherches fréquentes

Lean Portfolio Management: Enabling Enterprise Agility

Planifiez, financez et générez de la valeur au bon endroit

Augmenter l'agilité de l'entreprise avec le Lean Portfolio Management


Les organisations d'aujourd'hui sont plongées dans un monde en constante évolution. Entre les concurrents qui lancent de nouveaux produits, les clients qui exigent des produits et des services variés et les nouveaux paradigmes industriels, le changement est omniprésent. Les dirigeants savent que leurs cadres doivent adopter une nouvelle façon de gérer leur portefeuille pour rester pertinents dans l'économie actuelle. C'est là qu'intervient le Lean Portfolio Management, la « gestion de portefeuille allégée ».

Contrairement à la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle, la gestion de portefeuille allégée permet aux organisations de travailler plus efficacement, ce qui les aide à gagner du temps et à économiser leurs forces tout en maintenant les besoins des clients au cœur de leurs préoccupations.

Pour accélérer leur valorisation, les organisations doivent se concentrer sur :

  • Un financement stratégique et d'investissement : apprenez à organiser le financement et les processus de financement autour des principaux domaines stratégiques.
  • Des opérations agiles : formez des équipes pour harmoniser l'organisation à mesure que celle-ci adopte des méthodes de travail plus simples.
  • Une supervision allégée : découvrez comment appliquer des glissières de sécurité allégées pour financer les axes de valeur et effectuer une planification plus continue.
Le lean Portfolio Management pour les entreprises : quelle définition et quel apport de valeur ?

Livre Blanc

Gestion de portefeuilles Lean pour l'entreprise

De quoi s'agit-il et quel est en l'impact sur l'apport de valeur ?

Défiez le marché et rivalisez pour gagner


Pour offrir plus rapidement de la valeur client dans l'économie actuelle, les entreprises doivent bouleverser le marché et défier leurs concurrents.

Pour ce faire, il est temps d'envisager une solution Lean et Agile Delivery conçue pour étendre l'agilité au-delà des équipes en reliant les plans stratégiques à prestation de travail. Jetez un coup d'œil au rapport 2019 Gartner® Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools pour mieux comprendre vos choix en matière de logiciels de planification agile à l'échelle de l'entreprise.

Comparez la solution Lean and Agile de Planview à d'autres solutions et découvrez pourquoi nous sommes le meilleur choix pour les entreprises qui commencent l'aventure « Agile » ou qui recherchent plus de souplesse. L'investissement continu de Planview dans le Lean and Agile Delivery est évident dans le rapport de cette année.

Devenez un challenger sur votre marché avec Planview.

Gartner : [ph0] Magic Quadrant pour les outils de planification agile d'entreprise

Report

Gartner : [ph0] Magic Quadrant pour les outils de planification agile d'entreprise

Gartner has named Planview a Challenger in the April 2019 Gartner “Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools” based on its ability to execute and completeness of vision.

Report

Tell the CFO the Agile Team Isn’t Asking for a Blank Check

Read the report: Tell the CFO the Agile Team Isn’t Asking for a Blank Check

Webinar

Lean Portfolio Management

Learn how Lean Portfolio Management is changing planning and funding within the enterprise.

Watch the webinar: Lean Portfolio Management

Solution Brief

Accélérer le Lean and Agile Delivery

Orchestrate Agile at Scale – From Teams to the Enterprise

Read the solution brief: Accelerate Lean and Agile Delivery

ARTICLE

Connectez l'Agile Delivery à la planification stratégique et au Lean Portfolio Management

Read the article: Connect Agile Delivery with Strategic Planning and Lean Portfolio Management

Report

Digital Business Requires Agile Financial Planning

Download now to learn more on making the shift to Lean Portfolio Management.

Read the report: Digital Business Requires Agile Financial Planning

Qu'est-ce que la gestion de portefeuilles Lean ?

Webinar

Lean Portfolio Management: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Learn how Lean Portfolio Management is changing planning and funding within the enterprise.

Watch the webinar: Lean Portfolio Management: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Les entreprises d'aujourd'hui doivent faire face à des changements constants, entre les concurrents qui lancent de nouveaux produits, les clients qui exigent des produits et des services variés et l'arrivée de nouvelles start-ups dans leur espace. Pour survivre à cet environnement en constante évolution, de nombreux dirigeants savent que leur leadership doit passer de la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuille Lean, dite « allégée ».

Les pratiques Lean, lorsqu'elles sont appliquées à l'ensemble d'un portefeuille, permettent aux organisations d'appuyer leurs priorités et de s'y tenir afin d'améliorer leur rapidité et leur capacité de prestation, de proposer des produits de meilleure qualité et d'améliorer la santé de l'organisation.

Le résultat : les entreprises s'adaptent à leurs propres besoins, en tirant parti de cycles de planification souples et de modèles de gouvernance et de budget plus flexibles, et en créant des plans stratégiques plus adaptatifs et dynamiques.

Le Lean Portfolio Management vous permet de rester pertinent dans l'environnement actuel en constante évolution.

Webinar

Lean Portfolio Management: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Learn how Lean Portfolio Management is changing planning and funding within the enterprise.

Watch the webinar: Lean Portfolio Management: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Les bases du Lean Portfolio Management

La façon la plus simple d'expliquer le LPM est la suivante : il permet aux organisations de gérer leur portefeuille, d'axer leurs efforts sur les tâches les plus importantes, de financer lesdites priorités et de créer des boucles de feedback afin d'accélérer le processus. En réalité, le but est de vous aligner pour dépenser votre argent judicieusement.

S'il est bien exécuté, le Lean Portfolio Management augmente l'agilité de l'entreprise en lui permettant de réorganiser les processus de planification et de financement afin de les aligner sur les résultats opérationnels souhaités. Les dirigeants de l'entreprise apprennent à considérer le flux de valeur dans son ensemble et à se concentrer sur les domaines qui offrent le plus d'opportunités. Par conséquent, les modèles de financement et les cycles de planification deviennent plus continus, à mesure que les unités fonctionnelles ou les flux de valeurs disposent d'une plus grande marge de manœuvre pour prendre des décisions sur la façon dont la valeur est produite ou obtenue.

Le résultat : les flux de valeurs et leurs équipes respectives gagnent en autonomie et s'organisent pour s'acquitter en priorité des tâches à haute valeur.

Qu'est-ce qui change avec le Lean Portfolio Management ?

L'approche traditionnelle de la gestion de portefeuille centralise le contrôle en mettant l'accent sur les projets. Pour obtenir l'approbation du projet, on propose des extrêmement détaillés, avec une estimation « au pif » de la valeur qui devrait être générée dans 12-18 mois (ou plus). En général, les organismes centralisent la planification annuelle selon l'approche traditionnelle, réorientent les ressources vers divers projets et financent ces projets au fil des étapes d'un modèle en cascade. Une fois le projet terminé, la question est : « Le projet a-t-il été terminé à temps et dans les limites du budget ? » alors qu'elle devrait être « Le projet a-t-il apporté de la valeur au client ou au marché ? »

Avec le Lean Portfolio Management, la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle est bouleversée. On écarte les projets lourdement planifiés, auxquels on préfèrera une analyse allégée de la rentabilité, qui contient juste assez d'informations pour pouvoir donner le feu vert aux décisions de financement et définir des priorités. La prise de décision est décentralisée et les axes de valeurs déterminent le moyen d'atteindre les objectifs stratégiques de l'organisation.

Par conséquent, les responsables des axes de valeur ont le pouvoir discrétionnaire ultime. Ce sont eux qui déterminent la meilleure façon de s'aligner sur les buts de l'organisation et d'atteindre des objectifs précis au cours d'une période de prestation donnée. Il s'agit d'un changement important par rapport à la gestion traditionnelle du portefeuille, car les intervenants sont moins préoccupés par le financement de projets individuels et fortement investis dans les résultats. La gestion de portefeuille allégée réduit également une partie de l'implication associée aux modèles de financement à cycle plus long. En finançant les axes de valeur de façon plus progressive, l'organisation réduit le risque financier.

Avantages du Lean Portfolio Management

En intégrant le LPM petit à petit dans votre entreprise, vous obtenez les clés pour maximiser la valeur de votre portefeuille grâce à un financement itératif et à une planification continue. Le LPM apporte de nouvelles idées et de nouveaux pivots organisationnels. Associée à l'innovation, l'exécution prioritaire des projets à haute valeur vous attireront la confiance du marché, sans laquelle vous ne pourrez pas propulser votre organisation au niveau supérieur.

Quel est le rôle du PMO dans le Lean Portfolio Management ?

Livre Blanc

Lean Portfolio Management pour le PMO

Découvrez les meilleures pratiques pour savoir comment les PMO doivent piloter le passage de la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuille allégée à l'échelle de l'entreprise.

Lire le livre blanc : Le Lean Portfolio Management à l'attention des PMO

Pour demeurer pertinentes dans l'économie d'aujourd'hui, les organisations doivent passer de la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuille allégée. Dans ce contexte, le PMO, ou bureau de gestion des projets, joue un rôle central. Grâce à la place prépondérante qu'il occupe dans l'organisation, le PMO peut accompagner le changement nécessaire à la réussite de l'entreprise, en reliant le leadership de l'entreprise aux groupes spécialisés en Agile Delivery.

Passer de la gestion traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuille allégée ne se fait pas du jour au lendemain. Pour ce faire, le PMO doit conserver la même logique et les mêmes processus que par le passé pour resserrer la stratégie, les initiatives et les investissements, tout en adoptant une plus grande souplesse et en multipliant les analyses et les cycles de planification pour favoriser la transparence, la visibilité, la réactivité et la souplesse.

Si le PMO se concentre sur les changements pertinents, il peut assurer à lui seul le passage à la gestion de portefeuille allégée et montrer sa valeur au sein de l'organisation.

  • Un alignement stratégique – Dans le cadre du LPM, le rôle du BGP change : il doit respecter l'alignement stratégique en gérant les dépendances et les risques entre les équipes, tout en apportant des informations et du feedback à la direction et aux axes de valeur.
  • Gestion des ressources et planification de la capacité – Il incombe au PMO de fournir à la direction de l'organisation les informations dont elle a besoin pour s'assurer que les axes de valeur ont la bonne capacité pour produire la valeur escomptée.
  • Livraison ou lancements itératifs – En raison de la place qu'il occupe dans l'organisation, le PMO soutient la planification continue dans le cadre du LPM en maintenant un alignement constant, quelles que soient la gestion du travail et la méthodologie.
  • Une supervision mesurée – Avec l'aide du PMO, les éléments prioritaires passent aux mains des équipes avec plus d'efficacité et de rapidité, ce qui permet de fournir « juste assez » de directives pour obtenir une prestation centrée sur la valeur.
  • La transition vers une culture Lean and Agile – Le PMO doit passer d'une gestion de commandement et de contrôle à un leadership de service, et encourager la transition vers un Lean Portfolio Management en favorisant l'autonomie tout au long de la chaîne de valeur.

Pour améliorer l'agilité de l'organisation, il est essentiel de comprendre le rôle du PMO dans le passage de la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuille allégée.

Livre Blanc

Lean Portfolio Management pour le PMO

Découvrez les meilleures pratiques pour savoir comment les PMO doivent piloter le passage de la gestion de portefeuille traditionnelle à la gestion de portefeuille allégée à l'échelle de l'entreprise.

Lire le livre blanc : Le Lean Portfolio Management à l'attention des PMO

Il existe une façon de travailler novatrice et audacieuse

Les solutions Planview vous offrent une visibilité centralisée sur l'ensemble de votre organisation et aident les équipes à collaborer pour créer de la valeur.

Skip to main content

Log In

Popular Searches

Lean Portfolio Management: Enabling Enterprise Agility

Plan, fund, and deliver the value that matters most.

Achieve Enterprise Agility with Lean Portfolio Management


Organizations today are submerged in a world of constant change. Whether it is competitors launching new product offerings, customers demanding different products and services, or the introduction of new industry paradigms, change is all around. Executives know their leadership must adopt a new way of portfolio management to stay relevant in today’s economy. Enter Lean Portfolio Management.

Unlike traditional portfolio management, Lean Portfolio Management principles allow organizations to work more effectively, reducing wasted time and effort while continuously prioritizing customer needs.

To realize vision to value faster, organizations must focus on:

  • Strategic and Investment Funding: Learn how to organize funding and funding processes around key value areas.
  • Agile Operations: Create teams to help drive alignment across the organization as it shifts to more lean ways of working.
  • Lean Governance: Uncover how to apply Lean guardrails for value stream funding and more continuous planning.
Lean Portfolio Management for the Enterprise: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Whitepaper

Lean Portfolio Management for the Enterprise

What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Challenge the market and compete to win


To deliver customer value faster in today’s economy, organizations need to disrupt the market and challenge competitors.

To do this, it’s time to consider a Lean and Agile Delivery solution that is built for scaling Agile beyond the teams, connecting strategic plans to the delivery of work. Check out the latest 2019 Gartner® Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools to better understand your choices in enterprise-level Agile planning software.

Compare Planview’s Lean and Agile solution to others and learn why we are the best choice for organizations starting an Agile journey or seeking more enterprise agility. Planview’s continued investment in Lean and Agile delivery is apparent in this year’s report.

Become a challenger in your market with Planview.

Gartner: 2019 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools

Report

Gartner: 2019 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools

Gartner has named Planview a Challenger in the April 2019 Gartner “Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Agile Planning Tools” based on its ability to execute and completeness of vision.

Report

Tell the CFO the Agile Team Isn’t Asking for a Blank Check

Webinar

Lean Portfolio Management

Learn how Lean Portfolio Management is changing planning and funding within the enterprise.

Solution Brief

Accelerate Lean and Agile Delivery

Orchestrate Agile at Scale – From Teams to the Enterprise

eBook

The Challenges of Agile Software Development Costing and Capitalization

Connect Agile and Finance to better capitalize Agile development

Webinar

Transforming RBS

Report

Digital Business Requires Agile Financial Planning

Download now to learn more on making the shift to Lean Portfolio Management.

What is Lean Portfolio Management?

Webinar

Lean Portfolio Management: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Learn how Lean Portfolio Management is changing planning and funding within the enterprise.

Enterprises today deal with constant change – from competitors launching new products to customers demanding different products and services to the introduction of start-ups in their space. To survive this fast-paced environment, many executives know their leadership must evolve from traditional portfolio management to Lean Portfolio Management (LPM).

At its core, Lean practices, when applied across a portfolio, enable organizations to validate and align on priorities to increase delivery, improve speed, produce higher quality products, and improve organizational health.

The net impact: Enterprises pivot as needed, leveraging rolling planning cycles and more flexible governance and budget models, and creating more adaptive and dynamic strategic plans.

Lean Portfolio Management is how you stay relevant in today’s fast-paced environment.

Webinar

Lean Portfolio Management: What Is It and How Is It Changing Value Delivery?

Learn how Lean Portfolio Management is changing planning and funding within the enterprise.

The basics of Lean Portfolio Management

The most basic way to explain LPM is this: It creates the opportunity for organizations to manage their portfolio, prioritize the highest-value work first, fund the priorities, and create feedback loops to deliver faster. Essentially, get aligned so you spend your money wisely.

Done right, Lean Portfolio Management increases enterprise agility by allowing your organization to rearchitect planning and funding processes to align to the business outcomes desired. Leaders in the enterprise are taught to look at the flow of value as a whole and focus on areas with the most opportunity. As a result, funding models and planning cycles shift to more continuous, as business units or value streams are given leeway to make decisions on how value is produced or achieved.

The impact: Entire value streams and their respective teams gain more autonomy and self-organize to deliver the highest-value work first.

What changes with Lean Portfolio Management?

The traditional approach to portfolio management centralizes control, with a heavy focus on projects. To gain approval for the project, the plans have incredible detail that requires a “best guess” as to what the value delivery will be in 12–18 months (or longer). Organizations generally keep annual planning centralized in the traditional approach, realign resources to various projects, and fund those projects based on waterfall milestones. Once the project is completed, the measurements are simply, “Did the project finish on time and on budget?” Not, “Did the project deliver value to the customer or market?”

With Lean Portfolio Management, traditional portfolio management is flipped on its head. Instead of a hefty project plan, a lightweight business case is used with just enough information to create a go or no-go decision for funding and priorities. The decision-making is decentralized with the value streams determining how they will achieve the strategic objectives of the organization.

As a result, the value stream leaders have the ultimate discretion on how best to align to the organization’s goals and satisfy specific objectives within a particular delivery window. This is a significant shift from traditional portfolio management, as stakeholders are less concerned with the individual funding of specific projects and highly invested in the outcomes produced. Lean Portfolio Management also reduces some of the exposure associated with longer cycle funding models. By funding value streams in a more incremental fashion, the organization reduces potential financial risk.

Benefits of Lean Portfolio Management

By taking small steps to implement LPM at the enterprise level, you unlock the ability to maximize value from the portfolio through iterative funding and continuous planning. LPM creates the opportunity for new ideas and organizational pivots. Innovation and delivering the highest-value work first will create the market-trust needed to up-level your organization.

What is the PMO’s role in Lean Portfolio Management?

Whitepaper

Lean Portfolio Management for the PMO

Learn the best practices for how a PMO shepherds the enterprise-wide shift from traditional portfolio management to Lean Portfolio Management.

To stay relevant in today’s economy, organizations must shift from traditional portfolio management to Lean Portfolio Management, and the PMO plays a pivotal role. Because of where the PMO sits in the organization, they can shepherd in the change needed for organizations to succeed, connecting enterprise leadership with Agile delivery groups.

Evolving from traditional management to Lean Portfolio Management doesn’t happen overnight. It requires the PMO to employ the same logic and processes used historically to foster tight alignment between strategy, initiatives, and investments, but with less rigidity and more frequent planning reviews and cycles that create more transparency, visibility, responsiveness, and flexibility.

If the PMO focuses on the right changes, they can champion the shift to Lean Portfolio Management and show the value of their part of the organization.

  • Strategic Alignment – The role of the PMO shifts in LPM to support strategic alignment by managing the cross-team dependencies and risks, providing insight and feedback to leadership and the value streams.
  • Resource Management and Capacity Planning – It’s the job of the PMO to provide the organizational leadership with the information needed to ensure the value streams have the right amount of capacity to deliver value.
  • Iterative Delivery or Releases – Because of where the PMO sits in the organization, they support continuous planning in LPM by maintaining alignment regardless of work management or methodology.
  • Just Enough Governance – With the help of the PMO, prioritized items flow through the teams with more efficiency and speed, providing “just enough” guidance to achieve value-based delivery.
  • Lean-Agile Culture Shift – The PMO must evolve from command-and-control management to servant leadership to support a shift to Lean Portfolio Management, fostering autonomy throughout the value chain.

Understanding the PMO’s role in the overall enterprise shift from traditional portfolio management to Lean Portfolio Management is imperative to the organization’s ability to achieve enterprise agility.

Whitepaper

Lean Portfolio Management for the PMO

Learn the best practices for how a PMO shepherds the enterprise-wide shift from traditional portfolio management to Lean Portfolio Management.

Lean and Agile Software from Planview

Planview’s Lean and Agile Delivery solution enables organizations to adopt and embrace Lean-Agile practices, scale Agile beyond teams, and connect strategy to Agile team delivery while continuously improving the flow of work, and helping them work smarter and deliver faster. With Planview, choose how you want to scale and when. We’ll help you transform and scale Agile on your terms and timeline.